Skip to main content

2016 News


Senior Daniel Kinch Named 2016 Marshall Scholar

December 5, 2016 – from NORTHWESTERN NOW
Senior Daniel Kinch has been named a 2016 Marshall Scholar. He will explore the relationship between physics and math as it applies to string theory when the scholarship takes him to England for two years.






Kristian Hahn Receives DOE Early Career Award

May 6, 2016

Kristian Hahn, Assistant Professor in Physics & Astronomy, has received a $750,000 DOE Early Career Award. His work at the Large Hadron Collider at CERN focuses on the search for dark matter, the material that comprises 85% of the universe.

Kevin Kelly Awarded Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award

May 4, 2016

Kevin Kelly has been selected to receive the WCAS Outstanding Student Teaching Award. He was nominated by many students in his sections of Physics 135, Astronomy 101, Astronomy 111, and Astronomy 120, and strongly supported by faculty in the Department. Kevin works with Prof. André de Gouvêa.

Prof. Jens Koch Awarded WCAS Distinguished Teaching Award

May 4, 2016

Jens Koch has been awarded the WCAS Distinguished Teaching Award. Each year Weinberg College recognizes three faculty for excellence in undergraduate teaching.



April 28, 2016

Bennett Goldberg has been appointed Director of the Searle Center and Associate Provost for learning and teaching.  He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and formerly a Professor of Physics at Boston University.  He will have a courtesy appointment as a professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy.  Read the Northwestern News article here.

Dan Baxter Receives DOE SCGSR Award

April 20, 2016

Graduate Student Dan Baxter has received an Office of Science Graduate Student Research program award. Supported by this award, Dan will be working at Fermilab for the next year with Hugh Lippincott to study electron recoil backgrounds in a LZ-style Xenon Time Projection Chamber. Dan is in the research group of Eric Dahl.


April 12, 2016

Yonatan (Yoni) Kahn received the 2016 J.J. and Noriko Sakurai Dissertation Award in Theoretical Physicsfrom the American Physical Society.  The award will be made at the Division of Particles and Fields Meeting in Salt Lake City on April 17, 2016.  Yoni is a 2009 graduate of the Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences, BA in Physics.  His undergraduate research at Northwestern was under the direction of Prof. Michael Schmitt

Kahn's dissertation was with Jesse Thaler at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and the APS award cites the work "For proposing a novel method to detect dark photons, for developing halo-independent techniques of direct dark matter detection, and for finding a new viable supersymmetric extension of the standard model."

This is the second J.J. and Noriko Sakurai Dissertation Award to go to a Northwestern alumnus in the past five years.  The 2014 Award went to Ph.D. graduate Roberto Vega-Morales.


April 5, 2016

Yang YangYang (Angela) Yang received the Student Speaker Award in Statistical and Nonlinear Physics at the APS March Meeting 2016, held in Baltimore, MD. She was selected from the 5 finalists invited to present at the meeting. The award includes a certificate, travel support, and a cash prize. Yang is a PhD Candidate in Prof. Adilson Motter’s group. Her talk at the meeting was titled “Hamiltonian-Based Model to Describe the Nonlinear Physics of Cascading Failures in Power-Grid Networks”.


Northwestern Alumnus Jay Jones Supports APS Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research

March 26, 2016

The American Physical Society awarded it's first Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research to Ed Witten on January 28, 2016. This medal was established through the generosity of Jay and Mary Jayne Jones. Jay graduated with an undergraduate degree in physics in 1948. He is an entrepreneur and founder of the Olympic Medal Corporation.

Profs. Adilson Motter and Takashi Nishikawa Awarded $3.2M Award to Study North American Power Grid

March 23, 2016 – from Northwestern Center for Sustainability and Energy
Adilson Motter and Takashi Nishikawa have received a Network Optimized Distributed Energy Systems (NODES) grant from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Research Projects Agency (ARPA-E) to study power grid architecture related to utilization of renewables. Prof. Motter and Nishikawa are members of the Institute for Sustainability and Energy at Northwestern (ISEN). Read the news release here.

Assistant Prof. Nate Stern Awarded Prestigious ONR Young Investigator Award

March 15, 2016 – from NORTHWESTERN NOW
Nate Stern's proposal "Multi-Dimensional Control in Laterally Confined Atomically Thin Nanostructures" received funding through the Office of Naval Research's Young Investigator Award. Only 47 investigators received this prestigious early career award nationwide. Read the Northwestern News article here.


Northwestern Chapter of the Society of Physics Students Receives Recognition

February 11, 2016

The Northwestern Chapter of the Society of Physics Students has been recognized by the national organization as the Distinguished SPS Chapter for 2014-15.  Our chapter is advised by Art Schmidt.

Gravitational Waves Detected by LIGO, 100 Years After Einstein Predicted Them

February 11, 2016 – from NORTHWESTERN NOW
Northwestern scientists Vicky Kalogera,Shane Larson, and Selim Shariar are members of the Laser Inferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO) Scientific Collaboration. Today, the collaboration announced the first detection of ripples in space time known as gravitational waves.

Rebecca Diesing Accepted to Undergraduate Summer Research Program at CERN

February 1, 2016

Physics major Rebecca Diesing was accepted to the University of Michigan's REU program at CERN.  Diesing was nominated by Prof. Mayda Velasco.


Prof. Claudé-Andre Faucher-Giguère's Research Sheds Light on Star Formation

January 27, 2016 – from NORTHWESTERN NOW
Using observations by the Hubble Space Telescope, an international research team, Claude-André Faucher-Giguère, Aaron Geller from CIERA, and astronomers from the Kavli Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics, has for the first time found young populations of stars within globular clusters that have apparently developed courtesy of star-forming gas flowing in from outside of the clusters themselves. The study is published in the January 28 issue of Nature and featured at the Northwestern News Center.