Skip to main content

Rapid Fire Research

Describing your research in a clear, concise, and stimulating way is as much of an art as a science, and is crucial for getting that funding or landing that dream job. Rapid Fire Research is an event showcasing the physics and astronomy student research at Northwestern, with a focus on developing the skills necessary for constructing an elegant and simple pitch of your research. Presenters must be graduate or undergraduate students active in physics or astronomy research. Winning presentations will be featured on the Rapid Fire Research website and receive cash prizes.

More information can be found at

Presentation Specifics

2022 1st Place Student


2022 Runner-up Student


2021 1st Place Student and Runner-up Student

There were no winners in 2021 due to lack of participation.

2020 1st Place Student

Peter Lim

Preserving magneto-optical properties in ALD-passivated CrI3

2020 Runner-up Graduate Student

Dylan Temples

Hydrogen Doping in LXe-TPCs for Dark Matter Searches

2019 1st Place Graduate Student

James Dragan

Nondestructive State Readout of Molecular Quantum States

2019 Runner-up Graduate Student

Keenan Avers

Single crystal growth of uranium based superconductors

2018 1st Place Graduate Student:

Cody Dirks 

"Carbon in the Interstellar Medium"

2018 Runner-up Graduate Student:

Kyle Kremer

"LISA Sources in Milky Way Globular Clusters"

2018 Runner-up Undergraduate Student:

Dylaan Cornish

"The Host Galaxies of Short Gamma-ray Bursts"

2016 1st Place Graduate Student:

Zach Hafen

“Interpreting the Massive Gas Flows Around Galaxies”

2016 Runner-up Graduate Student:

Katie Breivik

“Distinguishing Between Formation Channels for Binary Black Holes with LISA”

2016 1st Place Undergraduate Student:

Trent Cwiok

“Acoustic Signaling in a Xenon Scintillating Bubble Chamber”

2016 Runner-up Undergraduate Student:

Benjamin Moy

“Microstructure of Aerogel”