Skip to main content

Gerald Gabrielse

Board of Trustees Professor in Physics

Ph.D. University of Chicago, 1980

Professor Gabrielse’s group probes the predictions, symmetries and proposed extensions to the standard model with exquisite sensitivity, using small-scale apparatus and methods that derive sensitivity from precision rather than energy. His electron and positron magnetic moment measurements with a single trapped particle (the most accurate measurments of propertes of elementary particles) test the standard model's most precise prediction.  His electric dipole moment measurement (EDM) using a beam of molecules is one of the most precise probes for physics beyond the standard model. He launched low energy antiproton and antihydrogen physics to test the fundamenal CPT symmetry of the standard model. Professor Gabrielse is the director of the Center for Fundamental Physics at Low Energy (CFP).

Awards and Honors

  • Member, U.S. National Academy of Sciences (2007 - )
  • Trotter Prize, Texas A&M University, 2013
  • Julius Lilienfeld Prize of the American Physical Society (2011)
  • Premio Caterina Tomassoni and Felice Pietro Chisesi Prize, Italy (2008)
  • Alexander von Humboldt Research Award, Germany (2005)
  • George Ledlie Prize for exceptional research, Harvard University (2004)
  • Davisson Germer Prize of the American Physical Society (2002)
  • Levenson Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Education, Harvard University (2000)  
  • Fellow, American Physical Society (1992 - )


Professor Gabrielse's assistant is Laura Nevins, 847-467-6678,

Back to top