Skip to main content

Nobel Prize Awarded for Gravitational Waves

October 3, 2017

The Nobel Prize for Physics in 2017 has been awarded to Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish, and Kip Thorne, for the first observation of gravitational waves.

This is an honor that extends to the entire LIGO Collaboration – clearly Weiss, Barish, and Thorne did not conduct this experiment by themselves, nor did they interpret the data alone.   This success depends on the hundreds of dedicated members of the LIGO Collaboration, including members of this department.

The department congratulates Vicky Kalogera, Shane Larson, Selim Shahriar, and their research groups for this momentous achievement.

Read more at Northwestern Now.

Back to top